India NCAP – TROPOMI SO2 Columnar Density Extracts for Designated Airsheds

NCAP Airshed InformationUpdated: January, 2024

131 NCAP non-attainment cities are grouped into 104 airsheds. Of these airsheds, 73 contain only one city; 18 contain two cities, and nine contain three cities. Four airsheds – Delhi, Mumbai, Indore, and Chandigarh contain 10, 8, 5, and 5 cities respectively. An additional 33 cities, not on the NCAP list are also part of these airsheds.

In the table below, for each of the designated airsheds, satellite observations from TROPOMI S5P for SO2 as columnar density (molecules/m2) is extracted for every 15-days for the period of 2019 to 2023. All the data processing was conducted on the Google Earth Engine. All the scripts and instructions to replicate the extraction process are uploaded on github.

Unit in the CSV files is molecules/m2.
IMAGE1 is time-series of all the data from 2019 to 2023
IMAGE2 is time-series of all the data from 2019 to 2023 as year-on-year (for comparison)

Download airshed size information and associated GIS files here.

Back to India NCAP data repository.

TROPOMI SO2 Columnar Density Extracts for Designated Airsheds

S.No.StateAirshedAirshed Size (0.01 deg grids)CSV filePlot - TimeseriesPlot - Seasonal
1Andhra Pradesh Anantapur30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
2Andhra Pradesh Chitoor30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
3Andhra Pradesh Eluru30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
4Andhra Pradesh Gunturin Vijayawada
5Andhra Pradesh Kadapa30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
6Andhra Pradesh Kurnool30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
7Andhra Pradesh Nellore30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
8Andhra Pradesh Ongole30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
9Andhra Pradesh Rajahmundry30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
10Andhra Pradesh Srikakulam30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
11Andhra Pradesh Vijayawada50 x 50CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
12Andhra Pradesh Vishakhapatnam50 x 50CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
13Andhra Pradesh Vizianagaram30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
14Assam Guwahati40 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
15Assam Nagaon30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
16Assam Nalbari30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
17Assam Sibsagar30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
18Assam Silchar30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
19Bihar Gaya30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
20Bihar Muzaffarpur30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
21Bihar Patna60 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
22Chandigarh Chandigarh50 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
23Chhattisgarh Bhilaiin Raipur
24Chhattisgarh Korba40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
25Chhattisgarh Raipur60 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
26Delhi Delhi100 x 100CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
27Gujarat Ahmedabad50 x 50CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
28Gujarat Rajkot30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
29Gujarat Surat50 x 50CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
30Gujarat Vadodara30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
31Haryana Faridabadin Delhi
32Himachal PradeshBaddiin Nalagrah
33Himachal PradeshDamtalin Pathankot
34Himachal PradeshKalaAmb30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
35Himachal PradeshNalagarh30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
36Himachal PradeshPaontaSahib20 x 20CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
37Himachal PradeshParwanooin Chandigarh
38Himachal PradeshSunderNagar20 x 20CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
39Jammu & KashmirJammu30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
40Jammu & KashmirSrinagar30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
41Jharkhand Dhanbad60 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
42Jharkhand Jamshedpur40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
43Jharkhand Ranchi40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
44Karnataka Bangalore60 x 60CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
45Karnataka Devanagere30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
46Karnataka Gulburga30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
47Karnataka Hubli-Dharwad30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
48Madhya Pradesh Bhopal40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
49Madhya Pradesh Dewasin Indore
50Madhya Pradesh Gwalior30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
51Madhya Pradesh Indore80 x 80CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
52Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
53Madhya Pradesh Sagar30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
54Madhya Pradesh Ujjainin Indore
55Maharashtra Akola30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
56Maharashtra Amravati30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
57Maharashtra Aurangabad40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
58Maharashtra Badlapurin Mumbai
59Maharashtra Chandrapur30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
60Maharashtra Jalgaon30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
61Maharashtra Jalna30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
62Maharashtra Kolhapur60 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
63Maharashtra Latur30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
64Maharashtra Mumbai80 x 80CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
65Maharashtra Nagpur40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
66Maharashtra Nashik40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
67Maharashtra NaviMumbaiin Mumbai
68Maharashtra Pune40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
69Maharashtra Sangliin Kolhapur
70Maharashtra Solapur30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
71Maharashtra Thanein Mumbai
72Maharashtra Ulhasnagarin Mumbai
73Maharashtra Vasai_Virarin Mumbai
74Meghalaya Byrnihatin Guwahati
75Nagaland Dimapur30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
76Nagaland Kohima30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
77Orissa Angul40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
78Orissa Balasore30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
79Orissa Bhubaneswar40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
80Orissa Cuttackin Bhubaneswar
81Orissa KalingaNagarin Bhubaneswar
82Orissa Rourkela30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
83Orissa Talcherin Angul
84Punjab Amritsar40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
85Punjab DeraBassiin Chandigarh
86Punjab Gobindgarhin Khanna
87Punjab Jalandhar40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
88Punjab Khanna30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
89Punjab Ludhiana40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
90Punjab NayaNangal30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
91Punjab Pathankot30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
92Punjab Patiala60 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
93Rajasthan Alwar30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
94Rajasthan Jaipur40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
95Rajasthan Jodhpur40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
96Rajasthan Kota30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
97Rajasthan Udaipur30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
98Tamilnadu Chennai50 x 50CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
99Tamilnadu Madurai30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
100Tamilnadu Thoothukudi40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
101Tamilnadu Trichy30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
102Telangana Hyderabad80 x 50CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
103Telangana Nalgonda30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
104Telangana Patancheruvuin Hyderabad
105Telangana Sangareddyin Hyderabad
106Uttar Pradesh Agra40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
107Uttar Pradesh Allahabad40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
108Uttar Pradesh Anpara40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
109Uttar Pradesh Bareily30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
110Uttar Pradesh Firozabad30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
111Uttar Pradesh Gajraula30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
112Uttar Pradesh Ghaziabadin Delhi
113Uttar Pradesh Gorakhpur30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
114Uttar Pradesh Jhansi30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
115Uttar Pradesh Kanpur40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
116Uttar Pradesh Khurja30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
117Uttar Pradesh Lucknow60 x 60CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
118Uttar Pradesh Meerut30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
119Uttar Pradesh Moradabad30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
120Uttar Pradesh Noidain Delhi
121Uttar Pradesh Raebareli30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
122Uttar Pradesh Varanasi40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
123Uttarakhand Dehradun30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
124Uttarakhand Kashipur30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
125Uttarakhand Rishikesh30 x 30CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
126West Bengal Asansol60 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
127West Bengal Barrackporein Kolkata
128West Bengal Durgapurin Asansol
129West Bengal Haldia40 x 40CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2
130West Bengal Howrahin Kolkata
131West Bengal Kolkata60 x 60CSVIMAGE1IMAGE2